Home / National News

Anwar, Shafie among 13 MPs yet to declare their assets
Published on: Monday, December 10, 2018

Selangor: PKR President Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim, who is also Member of Parliament (MP) for Port Dickson, is among 13 MPs who have yet to declare their assets to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission (MACC).Based on MACC's asset declaration website (, Anwar, who won the Port Dickson parliamentary by-election on Oct 13, had not declared his monthly earnings nor his assets as at 5pm on Sunday.

MACC deputy chief commissioner (Prevention) Datuk Shamshun Baharin Mohd Jamil, at a ceremony in Putrajaya earlier Sunday, announced that there were 13 MPs who have yet to declare their assets to the MACC.

Sabah Chief Minister and Semporna MP Datuk Seri Mohd Shafie Apdal and Perak Menteri Besar Datuk Seri Ahmad Faisal Azumu (Tambun MP) were also among those who have yet to declare their assets.

According to the website, seven PKR MPs have yet to declare their assets. Apart from Anwar, they are Datuk Abdullah Sani Abdul Hamid (Kapar), P. Prabakaran (Batu), Datuk Seri Dr R. Edmund Santhara (Segamat), Awang Husaini Sahari (Putatan), Ali Biju (Saratok) and Dr Michael Teo Yu Keng (Miri).

Three Parti Pribumi Bersatu Malaysia MPs, besides Ahmad Faisal, who have not declared their assets are Datuk Dr Noor Azmi Ghazali (Bagan Serai) and Datuk Dr Shahruddin Md Salleh (Sri Gading).

As for Parti Warisan Sabah, besides Mohd Shafie, Labuan MP Datuk Rozman Isli has not declared his assets either.

Meanwhile, Upko President and Tuaran MP Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau has also not declared his assets.

Checks showed that several MPs only declared their monthly earnings but not their assets.

They include Tourism, Arts and Culture Minister Datuk Mohamaddin Ketapi (Silam), Ministers in the Prime Minister's Department Senator P. Waytha Moorthy and Datuk Liew Vui Keong (Batu Sapi). - Bernama


Other News
Top Stories Today


Follow Us  

Follow us on            

National Top Stories