19 new political secs appointed by Shafie
Published on: Thursday, October 11, 2018

Kota Kinabalu: Nineteen new political secretaries have been appointed by Chief Minister Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal, including DAP's Luyang Assemblyman Phoong Jin Tze and former Sabah beauty queen Sue Henley Rampas. Addressing their oath-taking ceremony at the Sabah Administrative Centre (PPNS) here Wednesday, Shafie said they must understand their roles and responsibilities, be trustworthy and act as the link between the Government, the Ministers and the people.

He said all political secretaries should also apply their best public relations skills and communicate ethically when representing their respective Ministers in meetings and in resolving problems faced by the people.

He also reminded that political secretaries should not only work for their own political parties but should also provide efficient services to the communities in Sabah.

"This appointment (political secretary) is very important for us to ensure (they) are among the key political advisors to the existing Minister.

"However, we should not be content with holding the post as we must work hard, and at the same time, take care of our image and assume our responsibilities as best possible," he said.

Shafie also advised the political secretaries to stay away from corruption.

"I will not protect anyone involved (in corruption) because it does not only tarnish the name of the ministry but also the government," he said.

The oath-taking ceremony was led by the Political Secretary Chief at the Chief Minister's Department, Datuk Mohd Hisham Abd Fattah, and five political secretaries to the Chief Minister, namely Pg Roslan Pg Nasrun, Chak Wah Cheun, Adzhar Jasni @ Eddy, Paul Kerangkas and Jo-anna Sue Henley Rampas (political secretary to the State Finance Minister.)

Others are Albert Gulabok @ Albert Alex Bingkasan and Joisin Romut (for Deputy Chief Minister cum Trade and Industry Minister Datuk Seri Wilfred Madius Tangau, Raymond Ahuar and Lee Mee Peng (for Deputy Chief Minister cum Tourism, Culture and Environment Minister Datuk Christina Liew); Zulkiflee Laurcal Allani and Ali Jainal KK Oto (for Deputy Chief Minister cum Local Government and Housing Minister Datuk Jaujan Sambakong); Jatil Junggok (for Infrastructure Development Minister Datuk Peter Anthony); Phoong Jin Zhe ( for Health and People's Wellbeing Minister Datuk Stephen Wong Tien Fatt); Untuh @ Rakam bin Sijim (for Agriculture and Agro-based Minister Datuk Junz Wong); Rapahi Edris (for Education and Innovation Minister Datuk Dr Yusof Yacob); Carlyee Lajiman (for Rural Development Minister Datuk Ewon Benedick); Faizal Julaili (for Law and Native Affairs Minister Datuk Aidi Moktar and Liau Fui Fui (for Youth and Sport Minister Datuk Frankie Poon Ming Fung).

Also present was Sabah State Secretary Datuk Hashim Paijan.

Shafie also reminded the new political secretaries to use their power wisely and not to be a snob when dealing with the people especially in rural areas because they are not holding the post permanently.

"When the 'rakyat' come all the way from their rural homeland to see the Minister concerned and the latter is unable to meet them, this is where the political secretaries play their important role by looking after them.

"Tell them nicely that the Minister is not free at the moment as he or she is in a meeting or outstation, for example. Then the political secretaries can take the letters or attend to the needs of the people.

"Assure them that the concerned Minister would get their letters that need their signatures and will look into their needs as well as making sure the persons would be informed," he said. - Hayati Dzulkifli


Other News

Follow Us  

Follow us on            

Sabah Top Stories